Opening New Doors

No comments

For those that have read my bio you will know that I’m an actress and now I’m training to do stunt work. It has given me a new lease of life and as someone said to me yesterday I’m sure your life isn’t boring. It really isn’t! I have a black belt in Tae Kwon Do and I’ve always wanted to use that with my acting and when I met a stuntman I decided that stunt work was a fantastic field to get into. I’ve never gone to drama school and for past years I didn’t want to go, maybe in the future but not now.

Since I’ve started training so many opportunities have come up and many more acting jobs. I truly understand the quote”you get out of life, what you put into it”. I started off with baby steps and I thought I would have been further in my career but the thing is everything worth having takes time and effort. Here are a few lessons I’ve learned so far this year:

Open your eyes

I was so focused on acting that I couldn’t see another great opportunity in front of me. Once I saw it, I grasped it and now I’m doing much more.

Be shameless

Throw perfect ideology out of the window. If you want to promote yourself then promote, if you want to upload 10 selfies in one go then do it and if anyone criticizes then let them. Have fun and enjoy it.

Don’t be afraid to ask

I used to get embarrassed to ask people anything because I didn’t want to impose and I wouldn’t get anything. Now if I want to find something out I ask.

Motivate yourself

This is hard, I’m not going to lie, it really is! Now I have to plan my week out and even then it’s not always possible because this industry is a little last minute. Giving myself targets to get done by the end of the day/ week/ month helps me stay focused.

It’s ok to hit the wall

Everyone gets lost sometimes and that’s ok because we are human. Moments like these are great for you to take time out to reflect and re-plan. Use this feeling to your advantage.

What have you learned this year? Every piece of advice helps so comment below or let me know via Twitter or Facebook

Leave a Reply

