How To Kick Start Motivation

No comments

In the last couple of months you may have noticed that I haven’t been as active on my blog and that’s because I’ve been dealing with a burnout. At first I didn’t realise but once I did I was quite far in it, I guess that’s what happens when you don’t know when to shut off from work. So instead of fighting it I decided to accept that I needed some time to relax and now May has hit I decided to start up again slowly. These 6 tips aren’t about how to deal with a burn out but rather on how to kick start your motivation. Everyone has those days when they just can’t be bothered and anything will be the easiest of distractions. So these are little tips that I stick to and try to get motivated again.

64cd2fff00c4818de1d0ba0899ab8487.jpg

1# Problem Solving

Recognise why you aren’t motivated. Is it because you don’t enjoy what you are doing? Maybe it’s a particular task or is it simply because you are too tired from everything. Once you have understood what is hindering you, then you can try and work on that.

2# Be inspired

I don’t have idols but I have plenty of people who inspire me with their energy and work. I personally don’t enjoy watching motivational videos or reading motivational books but as I story teller I like to listen to stories. It’s through other peoples’ experiences and challenges that I find inspiration. As an actress I will watch films and TV programmes and realise that is where I want to be so that is a great way to motivate me to work. If not I’ll never get there.

3# Take time out

Taking breaks is essential for motivation. Removing yourself for a while refreshes your mind and you can your work with a clear mind again. When you have to get back to work, grab yourself a drink and carry on tackling the tasks.

4# Learn to switch off

Believe me when I say I can work all through the night if I have to. Between training, acting and blogging I actually wonder how I get to see the people I love or have time for myself. It can get very hectic and as I said before, hello burn out. It got to the stage where I would actually feel guilty for having me time which is wrong because it is needed. For months solidly I didn’t have a night off to just do nothing, so now I make sure I have a night off and either relax or catch up with friends.

5# Make the effort

As my job doesn’t require me to have an office I just set up at my kitchen table but one thing I will try to do when I am working, is get dressed. Working from home can be informal so by making the effort you already put yourself in that mindset. I’m not talking full blown make-up and hair but don’t stay in your pyjamas.

6# Get away

Seeing something new and different is a great way to kick start your motivation. Doing the same things day in day out will seem boring and sometimes too much. However seeing new things opens up your eyes but it is also a great way to appreciate what you are already doing and what you have. It could be a visit to a new city or even a new coffee shop that may inspire you.

 

What tips do you have for kick starting motivation? Let me know by commenting below!

liebster

Twitter Instagram Facebook

Leave a Reply

